Star-Fired Beef

The Ghost of Blaugust Past

2 Comments

Lately I have been feeling guilty about not maintaining a regular blog schedule, and the feeling has slowly grown to the point of action. As per usual for me, my chosen path is to blatantly rip off copy emulate others who do it better – in this case, Belghast. So as both a residual resolution from last year, and in anticipation of (and training for) this year’s Blaugust event, I am going to try and establish a regular, ideally daily, posting routine modelled on Belghast’s unpatented three-paragraph template.

As part of my therapy, I am working on structuring my daily activities so that I don’t fritter away so much time obliviously. I can get caught up in reading, or gaming, or browsing, or watching videos, and get so absorbed in it that I fail to notice how much time has passed. Now, this is not so much of a specific problem – I don’t miss appointments or anything important like that – but it can really screw up my plans to be productive, and makes me have to re-plan the next day’s activities to incorporate the missed tasks. One of the prime culprits for this time vortex, obviously, is MMOs, so I am starting my structuring with that. 

FFXIV is my main MMO at the moment, although I am still “officially” invested in making progress in TSW and LOTRO as well. As I belong to Aywren‘s FC. and most of the members are in US time zones, I am trying to make sure I am around for an hour or two during their prime time. This hour or two generally satisfies my MMO cravings, and by staying in a specific window of time I beginning to find it easier to stop when I planned to, and thus I hope to lose some of the anxiety of clock-watching or fear of overdoing it. Self-trust is going to be a big component of my mental recovery, so it is things like this that will benefit me in the long run, even if it seems less than relevant right now.

Drapht feat. Downsyde & Layla – Inspiration Island

2 thoughts on “The Ghost of Blaugust Past

  1. Awesome, you took up the challenge! Keep writing! 🙂

    We’re happy to have you in our FC! I know time frames are a little wonky, but if it actually helps you keep on schedule, then that’s great! I try to have a cut-off time for my own in game activities on the week nights – if it’s after 10 or getting close to 10, I try not to run dungeons or raids or do time-intensive things. FFXIV is a good MMO to play if you only have a few hours to toss at it here or there.

    • Oh yeah I am pretty good with not committing to group stuff like dungeons if I am near the planned stop time, but the real danger is those timed things like GC supply/provisioning, or just crafting and gathering. It is all too easy to succumb to “one more node” syndrome.

Leave a Reply

