Star-Fired Beef

The Shape Of My 2016 Gaming

10 Comments

Like Murf, I don’t really go in for the new year resolution thing, but I do have broad goals for the year and laying them out early is sort of the same thing, so here we are.

I will need your help, though.

MMO Gaming

Well it looks like FFXIV has its hooks in me for a while, so I think that’ll be my main MMO for most of the year. I just got to the stage where I can unlock other classes on my little Lalafell, Menashi, and I signed up for three of the crafting classes. That was enough to give me a glimpse of the depth of the rabbit hole, so I reckon my main task will be to restrain myself from becoming too caught up in it and thereby burn out. Patience, Grasshopper.

The goal for TSW is to catch up to current story content, and then duck in occasionally to keep the flow going. Should be easy enough with my lore post project keeping me honest.

Wildstar and LOTRO, I might have to keep my goalsetting to a minimum. Perhaps monthly progress goals is the way to go there. A couple of levels here, a zone completion there…nice and easy. Same with Devilian, maybe. We’ll see.

That’s the current MMOs dealt with, so what about the upcoming titles? I won’t have to worry about Star Citizen releasing this year, same with EverQuest Next. Those were the two major MMOs I was looking forward to. I’ll keep an eye on Crowfall and Camelot Unchained (the crafting classes made me perk my ears) but I don’t expect a proper release in 2016.

The Asian imports, hmmm. I don’t think Blade & Soul is going to grab me, but I might give Black Desert a try. Likewise, I am quite interested in Lost Ark Online, it seems to be an improvement on Devilian in all ways.

Steam Gaming

Okay so last year, mostly due to my illness, I didn’t get through many big-name games in my library, and I don’t think I played any new release. I did, however, make up for that with quantity, in the form of shorter and lesser-known, (mostly) lesser-quality games. This year I want to reverse that. Instead of quantity, I want to focus on quality. I want to finally experience as many big name games as I can this year, whether big in scope (like Tomb Raider) or classics (like Grim Fandango).

Here is a list of the games I have available to me which I think might fit that category. Please, let me know if I’m being too generous by including something I shouldn’t. Also, cast your votes as to the top five you’d recommend. Alphabetical order, no biases here!

  1. Alan Wake (+ American Nightmare)
  2. Batman: Arkham Asylum (+ Arkham City)
  3. Bioshock 2
  4. Blackwell Series
  5. Broken Sword 1-3
  6. Brutal Legend
  7. Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
  8. Costume Quest
  9. Crusader Kings II*
  10. Crysis 2
  11. Deus Ex: Human Revolution
  12. Dragon Age: Origins
  13. Endless Space*
  14. Europa Universalis III*
  15. F.E.A.R. (+ sequels)
  16. Grim Fandango Remastered
  17. Half-Life 2: Episode 2
  18. Jade Empire
  19. Just Cause (1 & 2)
  20. L.A. Noire
  21. The Last Express Gold Edition
  22. Mafia
  23. Mass Effect (1 & 2)
  24. Metro 2033
  25. Planescape: Torment
  26. Red Faction: Armageddon (+ Guerilla)
  27. Saints Row The Third
  28. Shadowrun Returns (+ Dragonfall)
  29. Sid Meier’s Pirates!*
  30. Thief Gold
  31. Titan Quest
  32. Tomb Raider
  33. Total War (Medieval II, Rome, Shogun 2)*
  34. Walking Dead Season 1
  35. The Witcher (1 & 2)

*- the goal for these would be to get in at least one proper playthrough/campaign.

I think a reasonable goal is to finish at least ten of these before the year is out.

Evergreens

I intend to continue to put time into Hearthstone, and the main goal is to stay on top of dailies. I want to get to legendary rank at least once in the year, though.

Doubt I will go back to Heroes of the Storm, unless I get some rank-climbing buddies. Or they change the ranked format to shorter seasons. Something has to change, that’s for sure.

Purchases

I reeeeally want to make progress on thinning out the library this year, so my goal is to only buy games to complete sets (e.g. Mass Effect 3, or Broken Sword 4 & 5). But there are so many quality titles out there, I just don’t know how I’ll be able to manage it. I think the key will be how much more concentration I have as I get better and can function more normally. That should let me stay focused a lot more, and thus get through the games faster. That, and the self-discipline in FFXIV I mentioned earlier.

Good luck to me!

Cheers!

NSFW

Missy Elliot – Work It

10 thoughts on “The Shape Of My 2016 Gaming

  1. Glad that you are enjoying your time in FFXIV! I’m sorry I haven’t been around as much as I’d like – you caught me at a strange time when I take my once-a-year vacation. I’m going to be driving back home tomorrow, so I’ll be back in game much more after that.

    Crafting still confuses me, btw. There’s no rush to it. But leveling up a gathering class before you start working on crafting is actually a great thing to do. Gathering your own mats means saving so much gil. If you’re still in Limsa, I think fishing is the only gathering class there. You’ll get access to many, many more classes once the main story sends you off to other cities, though! 🙂

    • That’s okay, I’m still trying to get into a routine that will put me in game during your prime time (7-8pm) so I can participate more.

      Yeah crafting seemed straightforward initially but now I am a little confused. Looks like I’ll have plenty of time to learn, though!

  2. That is quite the list. Good luck putting a dent in it!

  3. That’s quite the hefty list! I do think some of them are stronger or more classic than others though. My votes would be for these:

    1) Grim Fandango Remastered
    2) The Blackwell Series
    3) Batman Arkham Aslyum (and Arkham City)
    4) Shadowrun Returns (+ Dragonfall)
    5) Planescape: Torment

    With Mass Effect 1 & 2 just falling shy off the list at number 6.

    All these games are, in my opinion, very strong narrative and immersion wise, creating a very believable world setting that one can’t get enough of. Their gameplay meanwhile meshes well with the story, one rarely getting in the way of the other.

    For the most part, I ordered them in terms of playability factor today. 1 and 2 are easy to play mouse clicking and short, contained games, 3 is pretty smooth action and interchangeable with 4, which is shorter to play through than 3.

    I worry about the reception of Planescape: Torment these days because the UI is more than a little obtuse.

    • Thanks for the recs! Was somewhat surprised at the Batman rec though, since I only included it because it met all the criteria. I’m not a huge fan of the Batman universe so we’ll see. I know it was a huge hit when it released.

      I have a bunch of the old-skool RPGs, and I remember my Baldur’s Gate days, so the UI shouldn’t put me off too much (fingers crossed). I know it’s a game that I’ve wanted to play since it came out, so chances are I will at least like it. Hopefully love it!

  4. That list is intimidating 🙂

  5. Good list, it’s hard to pick only 5, but here are my recommendations:
    Alan Wake – A great game, and also not super long. I could take or leave American Nightmare.

    Blackwell Series – Some of the better modern (ish) adventure games I’ve played. I like that the story continues through all 5 games.

    Mass Effect – yes!

    Planescape: Torment – I saw you already committed to this on Murf’s post, so I’m not including it as one of my 5, I just wanted to say Yay! 🙂

    Saints Row 3 – So much fun, one of the few games that can make me laugh out loud.

    The Walking Dead – The best of the Telltale games, this was great and made me cry a lot.

    As for games to skip, imo:

    As much as I love Dragon Age, Origins is really hard to get into now. The characters are great, but the gameplay is very clunky. Unless you can find some mods that cut out the annoying bits, which I’m pretty sure exist.

    Grim Fandango I didn’t really like. It started well, but the puzzle solutions got so esoteric. I practically had to play with a walkthrough on my lap.

    • Thanks, Pam! Looks like the Blackwell games are more popular than I thought. I was surprised at Alan Wake, as I haven’t heard much nostalgic discussion about it in our corner of the blogosphere, so I’ll bump that up the priority list, and I was SHOCKED that you warned me off Dragon Age! I thought that and Mass Effect would be the slamdunks!

      I’m thinking I’ll play L.A. Noire before I get into Saint’s Row, but I have been keeping in mind your views on it. Maybe L.A. Noire in the first half of the year and SR3 in the latter half.

      Probably going to start off the year with Walking Dead, so I’m glad you agree!

      With these and Jeromai’s recs I should have a better idea of where to head next when I finish a game. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

