Star-Fired Beef

Steam Challenge – Superbrothers: Sword and Sworcery EP

5 Comments

This is part of my Steam Challenge Series (the full list is here).

Hmmmm.

This is a tough one.

First off, let’s just get that whole pixel-trash art style out of the way. I keep saying I don’t like it, and I keep trying these games in the hope of finding a gem anyway, but the graphics choices mean the rest of the game has to be all that much more perfect to compensate.

Superbrothers doesn’t have that. It starts off pretty well, the first 15 minutes or so of the game are quite intriguing actually. But then it just…loses its way. Veers off into some psychedelic wonderland that only the creator understands. 

One description I saw in the Steam reviews summed it up as “mythopoetical hipster”, which I think describes the project quite well. I can’t remember where I saw this, but I remember reading that the soundtrack was an original album, created before the game. It makes a lot of sense to me that someone took this album and tried to make an art project out of it, to adapt it to a visual medium. And to a certain extent they succeeded – although I found it rather boring and pretentious, I appreciate the effort.

I can’t really make a recommendation for this. It is pretty simplistic in game mechanics, so you’d be playing it for the story and experience. But this is one of those cases where it is impossible to judge how you’ll react to it until you actually play it yourself (or watch a Let’s Play).

All I can say is that I didn’t enjoy it after the first 15-20 minutes.

Regurgitator – ! (Song Formerly Known As)

 

5 thoughts on “Steam Challenge – Superbrothers: Sword and Sworcery EP

  1. I actually played this part way through a few years back. The art style didn’t bother me but the battle controls left much to be desired if I remember correctly. I don’t remember why I put it down, but I know I didn’t finish it. Maybe I should kick it around some again.

  2. I got this for iPad a long while back and had the same reaction as you. It was okay at the start, then it completely lost me. I quite enjoy many pixel graphic games (Anything by Wadjeteye, The Last Door) but I didn’t like the aesthetic of this one at all.

  3. I don’t know how any of you can be down on how this game looks!

Leave a Reply

