Star-Fired Beef

Steam Challenge – To The Moon

4 Comments

This is part of my Steam Challenge Series (the full list is here).

Alright, so I have a confession to make, and an apology as well. Back when I read Jasyla’s impressions of To The Moon, I may have politely scoffed at the notion that I would be actively annoyed by two of the main characters, the doctors. You know, the smartarse so-called “comic relief” of the game. Well, I am here to formally apologise for my naive doubt. Sorry, Pam!

The immediate impression that you get of the doctors is so much at odds with the rest of the game’s tone that it is actively off-putting for a while. It is a barrier that you can push past, but it seems like a bad decision to have it there in the first place. As the game progresses, these characters become more serious and sympathetic, but to me it felt like only the woman had the appropriate sense of respect for their work. I was much more irritated with the man.

Happily, that was the only writing faux pas the game made. I haven’t played one of these RPGMaker-type games before so I can’t speak as to the quality of it, but it impressed me with its ability to convey a range of settings, mechanics, and emotions. I’m one of those people who doesn’t mind reading a lot of written dialogue, so the storytelling was pretty good. The story did have me in tears by the end, I’m not ashamed to admit it. I suspect that a not insignificant part of that was due to the absolutely wonderful music featured throughout the game. I am so glad that I have the soundtrack!

I played through the two free “minisodes” that show some character development of the doctors, after To The Moon has ended. The first one was quite hit-and-miss for me, but the second one was more interesting. According to the developer, the second minisode features some plot development that will bridge To The Moon with a sequel. I am very much looking forward to said sequel!

Something For Kate – The Astronaut

4 thoughts on “Steam Challenge – To The Moon

  1. I haven’t played this in a while, but I remember enjoying it a lot. I haven’t tried the new game they release yet, though. I’ve heard it’s much more an interactive story than a game… but I guess that was the same for To the Moon.

  2. ah ha! Finally someone agrees with me!

Leave a Reply

