Star-Fired Beef

Steam Challenge – Home

2 Comments

This is part of my Steam Challenge Series (the full list is here).

Time played: 70 minutes

Hmmm. HMMMMMMM.

I can see what the developer was going for with this game. It’s a semi-choose-your-own-adventure story, with aspirations of horror. But sadly, it falls flat on all counts.

One major drawback I found was the heavily pixelated graphics. It is simply not up to the task of providing a satisfying atmosphere in which to base a horror story. When I am supposed to be grossed out or horrified by some grisly scene, it helps if I can actually tell what it is I am looking at.

The other major drawback for me was the story itself. It is a decent suspenseful thriller, but no more. Free games such as Serena do this kind of storytelling much better. The main difference in Home, is that at certain points during your journey, you get to choose how the story unfolds. This is difficult to explain without spoilers, but on the whole – especially at the end – it really undoes all the dramatic tension built up prior. When you get to what feels like a big reveal, and it turns out you can choose for it to be a very sensible, straightforward, and not-actually-scary reveal, it seems like a letdown. A waste of time.

Fortunately, Home is very very short, and although you can go back and play through it again to try other choices, I don’t think it changes anything. I wouldn’t recommend buying it, but if you get it in a bundle as I did, you won’t lose much by giving it a try.

Jebediah – Leaving Home

2 thoughts on “Steam Challenge – Home

  1. Thanks for the review on this one. I don’t own it, but it doesn’t sound like the sort of thing I’m going to rush out and buy now. 😀

    Seems like a lot of reviews are agreeing with you on this. I don’t mind a pixel game, but there’s some things pixels just aren’t good at portraying.

Leave a Reply

