Star-Fired Beef

Steam Challenge – Gunpoint

Leave a comment

This is part of my Steam Challenge Series (the full list is here).

Time played: 4 hours

I’d heard a fair bit about Gunpoint, and all of it was good. Not quite the high praises that titles such as Braid, Limbo, and Bastion received, but it was still quite well-hyped for me. As such, I was a tiny bit apprehensive that it would disappoint. I was very, very happy to find that it didn’t.

The animations are smooth, controls very responsive, and puzzles well-designed. I didn’t appreciate it at first, but there is a lot of freedom to approach each level in your own way, depending on what kind of P.I. you want to play. The best part is, when you are filling in your personalised blog post at the end, the choices you are presented with are based on your actions during the game.

Gunpoint features an awesome slow jazz/funk soundtrack, and nails the noir atmosphere completely, despite it being a modern-day setting. The conversations you have with various contacts between missions are highly entertaining. The humour of the developer really shines through in the writing. I loved it.

All in all, Gunpoint was everything I’d hoped for, and more. I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes stealth puzzlers.

Wolfmother – Joker and the Thief

Leave a Reply

