Star-Fired Beef

Steam Challenge – Braid

2 Comments

This is part of my Steam Challenge Series (the full list is here).

Time played: 6 hours

Braid is a strange beast for me. It is absolutely beautiful visually. The music is both melancholy and wistful. The puzzles are devious and not as unfair as they first appear – each world’s levels are linked by a common theme mechanic, and once you are used to that mechanic then the puzzles become possible (if not easy). The story is well written, emotional, and heart-wrenching.

Yet, all these elements, individually brilliant, didn’t seem to gel together for me into one incredible package. The story seemed disconnected to the levels, the puzzles didn’t seem to have any relevance to anything else except as a way to show off the mechanics, and I just did not enjoy the experience as much as I think it deserved.

I feel like there is an aspect that I have not fully grasped. It is one of those games that is full of opportunities to not quite “get it”, not quite understand what the creator wanted you to feel, and I think that that happened to me. Although I will never forget the closing scene, and will always treasure the food for thought it granted, I cannot give Braid the unqualified praise that others have. It’s strange, because I want to, I can see why so many people gave it 10/10 or close enough, but it just didn’t do that for me, and I am not sure why.

Celtic Woman – Ashokan Farewell

2 thoughts on “Steam Challenge – Braid

  1. I never actually finished Braid, I should probably do that at some point. I remember really liking the time rewind mechanic though.

Leave a Reply

