Star-Fired Beef

Steam Challenge – Cave Story +

2 Comments

This is part of my Steam Challenge Series (the full list is here).

Time played: 3 hours

Cave Story + seems like a good game. It is a very good throwback to the SNES days of gaming. I just…can’t get into it.

I gave it a chance, I really did. And to be fair, it had me hooked fairly early into the story. But after a while I began to feel that it was grindy, unforgiving, and frustrating. The story was interesting, as far as I saw. Unfortunately, although it was the pursuit of the story that motivated me through the initial frustrations, it wasn’t enough to keep me going past the Sand Zone.

I am going to hand in my gamer cred here and admit that I never really saw the appeal of the retro nostalgia wave sweeping the industry over the last 5-10 years. Pixel art doesn’t do much for me – I love Terraria, but it is not because of the art design. And the ‘hardcore’ mechanics of these games, that seek to recreate the experiences of the ’80’s and ’90’s, just hinder my enjoyment of the game now. Back then, when we didn’t know any better, that stuff was the shiz. Now, I have no patience for it.

I can see the quality of Cave Story +. I have absolutely no doubt that, if you are a fan of the retro Metroid-esque platformer genre, you will love this game. But it just didn’t push enough of my buttons.

Mumford & Sons – The Cave

2 thoughts on “Steam Challenge – Cave Story +

  1. I’ve seen this game around in bundles and such, but don’t actually own it. While I enjoy pixel graphics and retro games, I might have to pass on this based on your review. Not looking for frustrating games, and I have way too many to play already. πŸ™‚

    • It certainly has very good critical reviews. I also enjoyed it while it lasted. I just got to the point where I could foresee myself getting way too frustrated with the mechanics to enjoy it any further. I think I am getting better at judging when I am frustrated due to my ability – in which case I’ll usually persevere – or due to the gameplay. Either that or I am just getting old and ornery. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

