Star-Fired Beef

WoW: The Accidental Killer

6 Comments

I’m just going to say it: WoW killed innovation in MMO’s.

This is a slightly different take on the recent wave of “MMO’s are dying” sentiments floating around the blogosphere. I don’t believe for a moment that the MMO genre is dying, for the same reason that I don’t think the FPS or RTS genres are dying: there is still a steady stream of big name titles being developed and released, even though the rate of releases seems lower than a few years ago. But I think the prophesising of doom that has been going on for a while is due to the vast majority of MMO’s playing very very similarly. Similarly to WoW.

Yes, yes, I know that there were a number of MMO’s that came before WoW. But WoW was an iteration on those formulae, and we haven’t really seen anything revolutionary since. EVE Online grew up alongside WoW, which could explain why it has flourished for as long as – if not as spectacularly as – WoW, despite being so different. So why have there been no substantial advancements in the genre since Blizzard was crowned King?

I believe that the major reason is that WoW showed the industry that MMO’s could be big business. When you get the kind of money that Blizzard was raking in in the mid-late 00’s, other businesses want a piece of the action. Given that most of them were starting way behind Blizz and SOE, they needed to catch up quickly or drop out of the race entirely. They’d see the sheer amounts that WoW was making and their development model would not even consider the “build up a small but loyal following and expand slowly” idea – it’d be all “we need to tap into the existing playerbase”. They had to, in order to justify the money that investors were injecting into these projects. When you are dealing with that kind of investment, small and steady returns are not attractive.

Investors looking at WoW’s revenue stream would be dissatisfied with anything less than stellar returns from their own projects. This would mean that anything innovative, that wasn’t proven to work (as attractive gameplay) already, would be heavily frowned upon as a potential waste of time and resources. Thus, the path of least risk would be to copy the gameplay of WoW. Sure, you had to have something to distinguish your product, but it couldn’t be too radical a departure from what Blizzard had perfected. LOTRO would rely on the draw of the IP, as would STO and SWTOR and TESO. TSW would lean heavily on the setting and skill system (and my favourite, investigation missions).

When you are trying to steal players from another game, you can’t offer anything too radically different, or you have no foot in the door. By being able to say “this is what you are used to, but better!”, you can entice players away from Blizzard. On the other hand, as we have seen in the last few years, that works the other way too, where Blizzard has kind-of-copied popular aspects of other MMO’s to draw players back (or away from those games). But Blizzard was there first, already comfortably established, so any net loss after this exchange of player loyalties is something they can afford – the newer games cannot afford it nearly as much.

I think that the repeated attempts to challenge WoW for sheer profitability were the result of investors treating the MMO industry in a similar way that several other global markets operate. Take the mobile phone or tablet industry, for example. It is dominated by a couple of names, but they all do practically the same thing. Same with the console market. I don’t think that anyone really anticipated that WoW would not share the market at all. I think people – not least of all, the people with the development cash – expected one, maybe two major rivals to rise and compete with WoW, and then there would be all the satellite MMO’s picking up the niche scraps. And I think that the reason so many MMO’s over the last 10 years have been WoW ‘clones’ is because they all tried to establish themselves as that major rival. The result has been an MMO bubble, that is going to burst in the next couple of years.

I’ve recently become disillusioned by ArcheAge from the reviews/impressions of some bloggers in the beta, I don’t think that there is enough new in the game to really differentiate itself (at least, not in a good way). So that leaves me with my fingers crossed for EQ Next, and the two space MMO’s Star Citizen and Elite: Dangerous. No Man’s Sky is also intriguing but I’m not sure how much of an MMO it is at this stage. I have a feeling that the only ways forward from here are either massively improved AI to provide both challenging, dynamic combat and immersive interaction, or a proper virtual world that is player-driven and basically just curated by the developers rather than designed by them. I have a dream game along those lines, that I’ll try to lay out in depth on this blog, but I fear we may be waiting at least another 5 years before anyone attempts anything truly innovative.

6 thoughts on “WoW: The Accidental Killer

  1. Agreed. World of Warcraft managed to take the formula setup by a bunch of mom and pop burger joints and turn it into McDonald’s. For years since, various Burger Kings and Carl’s Jrs have vied to match the beast, but at its heart, I think the genre is still pretty small business – at least without severely altering it.

  2. I have to add as well, drawing people away from WoW is hard because people like me, who have been playing since Vanilla, have a lot of sentiment attached to our accounts. (and let’s be honest a tonne of money). I don’t want to leave 9 years of playing the one account to wither and play something that is not as enjoyable to play.

    I enjoy WoW mainly because I like the graphics. I know people say old/dated etc – but I actually like the style the game is rendered in. That it what keeps be going back when I play other games to test the waters. I also don’t like the free to play models..i would much rather pay one monthly fee and have everything included. If WoW ever stops being that model it may be the end of my subscription. i don’t want to have to pay for half the game because I won’t buy other things often – and I shouldn’t have to.

    xxoo

    Dragonray

    • Hi Dragonray!

      It’s certainly a huge factor that putting down roots in a game makes it harder for others to grab you away. I think, though, that offering something more vastly different is a way to break those roots, or at the very least get those players trying out your game. If it’s too similar to WoW, then why would you leave? The people playing Wildstar (aka WoW 2.0) are not people like you, who are still deeply rooted in WoW – they are people who’ve made their peace with WoW or were never hooked in the first place.

      I quite like some F2P implementations. The Secret World has the best one for me – I know it’s not technically F2P but it’s close enough. You can sub and get access to everything you could ever want, or you can just buy the Issues (mini-xpacs) as and when you want to. The freedom of being able to take a few months off and then come back, pay $10 and get the new content is great imo.

      • Yeah I can see what you mean. I honestly thought SWTOR would grab me away from WoW- I HONESTLY thought it would, but in truth – I struggled to level – never made max. It was really glitchy, slightly boring and in truth it felt too much like real life (Sci-fi is not really that far of a stretch – riding hover jets etc could actually happen in my life time – give me a DRAGON ANY DAY!!). Star trek online was crud – just crud. I didn’t even make it out of the first opening area for Skyrim (talk about terribly boring intro to an MMO – at least make it compellingly different from the single player version to hook people in!) Archage looks like too much work (and people complain about WoW!) I don’t want to raise animals and keep houses etc – not interested in having a second life (IMHO).

        I did like the look of Wildstar – but after watching the youtube videos I just figured it was pointless to switch on the basis that you hate one company that makes a cool game for another one that was just set in space. Each to their own though.

        I have heard good things about secret life, but never gave it a shot – doesn’t seem like my kind of game. I guess not being a real raider I still have the freedom in WoW – I don’t miss out by taking a few months off (certainly not at the moment anyway). They made it very easy for casuals to keep up to date with gear and content I think.

        In truth though, whilst I am getting bored at the moment with WoW, something would have to be pretty damn spectacular to get me to leave for longer than a month or so. It would have to involved dragons at the VERY least :p hehe

Leave a Reply

