Star-Fired Beef

Steam Challenge – Serious Sam: The Random Encounter

2 Comments

This is part of my Steam Challenge Series (the full list is here).

Time Played: 22 minutes

Aaaaand another swift and brutal post on the challenge. I was never a fan of the Serious Sam franchise – I tried it once and it just didn’t click with me. Having got this game in one of the Humble Bundles I gave it a shot after reading (somewhere) a few conflicting reviews.

This and a couple of other games were created as indie spinoffs of the classic FPS franchise. Each one attempts to bring the world and feel of the SS brand to a new genre. In this case, it’s a hybrid turn-based dungeon crawl/turn-based side-scrolling shooter. The first part of the game is standard fare – you move around a map one square at a time trying to get keys or defeat bosses in order to unlock the exit to the next map. When you encounter a monster, you move to combat, which is the really innovative part of the game. I liked that they tried something new with it, but it was simply too frustratingly hard.

That was the one thing that all those conflicting reviews had in common: this game is disgustingly difficult. Unfortunately it’s in an overtuned, RNG-type way. There is certainly skill involved in the combat, but only up to a point. After that, you’re pretty much depending on luck. And it feels like anything less than perfect luck means defeat (which means starting the whole map over) or being so beaten up that you’ll definitely lose the next fight.

I played long enough to realise that the game was going to cause more anger than enjoyment in me, then uninstalled with a clear conscience.

Probably only for the die-hard Serious Sam enthusiasts.

I have one more game to post about before I have caught up to my current progress – and that one, finally, is one I’m excited to tell you about!

2 thoughts on “Steam Challenge – Serious Sam: The Random Encounter

  1. Pingback: What I Played: Steam Challenge! | Star-Fired Beef

  2. I’ve never played a Serious Sam game — or even really considered playing one. Gotta love Humble Bundles for things like this!

    Must say, between your review and the video, I’ll have to skip this one. I don’t blame you for putting it down quickly — doesn’t look like a ton of fun to me, either.

Leave a Reply

